John Bates Clark Medal Recipients

The John Bates Clark Medal is awarded annually (as of 2010) by the American Economic Association to "that American economist under the age of forty who is judged to have made a significant contribution to economic thought and knowledge." Named after the American Neoclassical economist John Bates Clark (1847-1938), it is considered one of the two most prestigious awards in the field of economics, along with the Nobel Prize. Around 40% of past medal winners have cone on to win the more frequently-awarded Nobel, following an average wait of 22 years.

2015   Roland Fryer
2014   Matthew Gentzkow
2013   Raj Chetty
2012   Amy Finkelstein
2011   Jonathan Levin
2010   Esther Duflo
2009   Emmanuel Saez
2007   Susan C. Athey
2005   Daron Acemoglu
2003   Steven Levitt
2001   Matthew Rabin
1999   Andrei Shleifer
1997   Kevin M. Murphy
1995   David Card
1993   Lawrence H. Summers
1991   Paul R. Krugman
1989   David M. Kreps
1987   Sanford J. Grossman
1985   Jerry A. Hausman
1983   James J. Heckman
1981   A. Michael Spence
1979   Joseph E. Stiglitz
1977   Martin S. Feldstein
1975   Daniel McFadden
1973   Franklin M. Fisher
1971   Dale W. Jorgenson
1969   Marc Leon Nerlove
1967   Gary S. Becker
1965   Zvi Griliches
1963   Hendrik S. Houthakker
1961   Robert M. Solow
1959   Lawrence R. Klein
1957   Kenneth J. Arrow
1955   James Tobin
1953   No Award
1951   Milton Friedman
1949   Kenneth E. Boulding
1947   Paul A. Samuelson


©2017 Litigation Analytics, Inc. All Rights Reserved.


Ask Google

Browse the Google search results for each of these economic terms:

Human Capital

Earnings Function

Mincer Equation